Friday, December 29, 2017

Goodbye 2017!!

Hiya peeps!

Can you believe we're about to start a new year? I sure can't!

I don't know about the rest of you, but this year has been crazy! I've had my share of adventures, and am both excited and nervous to see what next year holds. I'm going to focus on the excited part though - much more fun that way. ;)

Desert Rose Reviews has come back stronger than ever, and I'm loving it! We reviewed over 80 books this year alone, with the majority of those being in the second half of the year. I'm hoping to have more than a hundred reviewed in 2018, and can't wait to read some of the amazing books we've already got scheduled!

I've got some big plans in store for this blog, as well as some other businesses and projects I'll be introducing to you guys next year, and I'd love it if you'll join me for another year of book love and fun!

Thanks to everyone who's followed me this far, and I hope you have a fantastic 2018! Let's send 2017 off with some good vibes, spread some joy and love, and go into this next year with smiles!

Wishing you all well!


~Rose & Ken
@Desert Rose Reviews

Thursday, December 28, 2017

"Shattered Roses" by E.L. Parfitt!

Hiya peeps! Fairy-Tale Retelling today, for Beauty and the Beast! Check it out, and be sure to let me know your favorite retellings in the comments - I could use more recommendations! =D

Shattered Roses

 Shattered Roses
~Author: E.L. Parfitt

~Released: April 24th 2017

~Length: 79 pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Fiction, Fairy-Tale Retelling

A book for all Beauty and the Beast fans! A contemporary retelling viewed through the eyes of a teenager. Sixteen year old Megan wants to be a doctor. When Megan volunteers at a residential home she meets Lady. Lady tells a fragmented and confusing story of a duke who never aged; his fate tied to the roses that grew in his garden. As Megan hears more of Lady’s tale she is intrigued to know whether the duke existed or if he is a figment of Lady’s imagination. As Megan embarks on unravelling the mystery of the beast a hidden family secret emerges... will it shatter her life forever?

"Beyond the Vale" by Kerry Alan Denney!

Hiya peeps! There's a new release for all you fantasy lovers out there, who enjoy stories of the beyond! Check out this after-death tale, and be sure to let me know what you think in the comments below! Do you believe in life after death?

Beyond the Vale

 Beyond the Vale
~Author: Kerry Alan Denney

~Released: December 23rd 2017

~Length: 285 Pages

~Genres: Adult Fiction

There's no rest for the weary in the afterlife: We all must earn our passage to the next world -- or pay the ultimate price.

Logan Leonard comes to his senses with his memory full of holes, and a half-familiar woman asks him if he remembers how and why he died. She tells him he must earn his passage to the next level, leads him through doorways to impossible places with surreal landscapes and bizarre inhabitants, and sends him into pictures that are portals to his past. Logan meets his spirit guide in the form of a friendly dog, finds and then loses the woman of his dreams, and battles a madman who has enslaved the entire populace of the afterlife world.

Then shadows come to claim Logan, and suddenly the stakes are his own immortal soul--and the souls of everyone he loves. All he has to do to earn his passage is rescue the woman of his dreams, defeat the shadows and their master, and correct the mistakes he made that ruined his life. If he fails, everyone will burn.

Because the punishment for failure is a one-way ticket to Hell.

Friday, December 22, 2017

"Arklight" by J.M. Myrick!

Hiya peeps! I'm super stoked to share this book with you, because I just loved it! It's been a while since I found a book I truly fell in love with, but this one was awesome!

Check out my review, and be sure to add it to your reading lists - you won't want to miss this one! =D


Operation Nightfall

~Author: J.M. Myrick

~Released: October 4th 2017

~Length: 266 Pages

~Genres: Historical, Christian, Adventure, Conspiracy

The United States’ most formidable secret unit impacts the past creating a line through history, revealing that God exists independent of time. Seventy-three years after World War II, while on a mission to capture the world’s most wanted terrorist, Arklight’s Spear Team, led by genius historian Navy SEAL Captain John Steadman, discovers a remarkable Nazi conspiracy. Through a supernatural phenomenon, the small Arklight team teleports to 1943 Bizerte, Tunisia, one day into the allied assault on the city. The team’s interactions with a group of Navy Raiders in World War II lead them to discover the Nazi plans for an atomic bomb and a weapon of Christ, known as the Titulus Crucis. 

The Navy Raiders discover a powerful truth through faith, which binds them to America’s most modern and formidable warriors conceived to date. Historical figure Ensign John Bell and his small band of Raiders soon experience Arklight’s ability to wage all out warfare against the Nazi death-machine. In 1943, Hitler’s hope to rule the world stands on the fringe of reality, but the Arklight team’s encounter with a powerful force enables them a chance to alter destiny itself. The coveted mysteries of Christ are unveiled, and the team soon discovers the forces of darkness have a larger more ominous plan in play. 

Wednesday, December 20, 2017

"Viral Spark" by Martin McConnell!
Sci-Fi Adventure!

Hiya peeps! If you're a sci-fi fan, this is definitely a book you'll want to discover. Check out my review, and let me know what  you think in the comments below!

Viral Spark

 Viral Spark
~Author: Martin McConnell

~ReleasedDecember 14th 2017

~Publisher: Gecko Print Publishing

~Length: 215 Pages

~Genres: Sci-fi, Adult Fiction, Adventure

The world has become a place of comfort, where a shopping trip means heading to the first floor to collect new food tubes for the printer. Menial tasks, like cleaning up or cooking, are relegated to robots, and Robert’s job while finishing school is to maintain them. With only three classes remaining, he’s hoping for something better. 

Then everything starts to glitch: 
the robots, the building, and even the people. 

What starts as glitchy videos, misbehaving touch-screens, and random fighting, grows into a race against time to fix the problem before it escalates. Maybe he can land a cushy programming job in the process, but this virus is more than it appears...

"Frede and Santa" by Leen Lefebre!

Hiya peeps! I've got a cute holiday novella to share with you today, and it's perfect timing! It's suitable for all ages, starting middle grade and up. Check it out, and be sure to let me know what holiday reads you're enjoying this month! =D

Frede and Santa

 Frede and Santa
~Author: Leen Lefebre

~Released: June 2nd 2017

~Length: 36 Pages

~Genres: Holiday, Young Adult, Fiction, Fantasy

In a faraway village there lives a farmer with his wife. The summer harvest has failed and winter already arrives. So, how should they feed their three sons? The idea arises to fetch wood in the northern forest. They could dry it, sell it from door to door and earn some money to buy food. 

Frede knows that his parents are doing their best, but is it enough to withstand the most barren period of the year? Together with his brothers, Rhune and Folke, he wants to visit Santa and ask him for help. But, first they must travel through that extensive forest where the evil Elf King lurks.

Tuesday, December 19, 2017

"Return to Echo Woods" by Lucky Maxwill!

Hiya peeps! I've got a new review for you today, of a middle-grade story full of charm and magic. Check it out, and be sure to let me know what you think of it in the comments below!

Return to Echo Woods

 Return to Echo Woods
~Author: Lucky Maxwill

~Released: November 27th, 2017

~Publisher: Balboa Press

~Length: 152 Pages

~Genres: Middle Grade, Fantasy, Young Adult

Return to Echo Woods is the introductory tale of people, animals, and adventures in fictional Loral County in Missouri. This rural area is a place where normal activities are not exactly as they appear because of a clever elf named Sam, who has hidden agendas and is only visible to a select population. He is especially perplexing to newcomer Audry Merryweather, a young woman who moves to Echo Woods to take ownership of her family’s historical homestead. Here she unwittingly becomes an accomplice in Sam’s efforts to shelter and provide forever homes for animals. But, she is not alone. Sam is quite resourceful and has many allies with diverse talents—everybody from an animal control officer to a youth home coordinator and even a red-tailed hawk. Altogether, they combat bullies, overcome challenges, and provide a community where all can call home. 

Woven within this tale are historical and geographical Missouri references that are hyperlinked to web resources. These offer superior supplemental reading materials for students and educators alike. Subtle humanitarian messages regarding animal welfare and culture, as well as Missouri history, make this a value-added book for young readers.

Monday, December 18, 2017

"Starry Messenger" by Ethan Howard!

Hiya peeps! Sci-fi fans have another option today, with this new review. Apparently it's sci-fi week on Desert Rose Reviews! Check this one out, and see what you think!

Starry Messenger

Opportvnvs Adest, #1

 Starry Messenger
~Author: Ethan Howard

~ReleasedMarch 15th 2017

~Length: 146 Pages

~Genres: Sci-Fi, Spirituality

In 2018, war has been eliminated. Crime greatly reduced. Poverty and homelessness is a thing of the past. Things are so good, that many have dared to call it paradise.

Then a powerful and enigmatic stranger comes to Earth with a message: 

"What you believe is false."
"What you know is wrong."

Humans have been manipulated since the dawn of man by shadowy forces. Nothing is what it appears to be and dark times are on the horizon. Everything transpiring on the planet is merely a precursor to unspeakable horrors destined to occur in the year 2020.

The world is headed for its end days while the battle-weary stranger struggles with his feelings for an Earth woman, his duty, and a past shrouded in mystery. In the meantime, evil forces operate with impunity and gain a greater stranglehold on the planet.

The arrival of this starry messenger will either save Earth or accelerate its destruction.............. 

Sunday, December 17, 2017

HappiMe Book & Apps Review!

Hiya peeps! I'm super excited today, because the content I have to share with you is awesome! Not only is this a children's book with a message and project I fully support, it has apps for kids, teens, and adults that are stunning.

Check it all out, and be sure to let me know what you think in the comments below!


~Released: August 15th 2017

~Length: 32 Pages

~Genres: Childrens, Inspirational, Picture Book

Oscar is a bit of a worrier. In fact, Oscar like many children, worries about lots of things he doesn’t really need to worry about; including worrying about school, doing something new or not being very good at a new activity. Join him on his exciting journey as he meets his Worry Chimp and learns how to stop worrying once and for all! 

The HappiMe books are designed for 6-10-year-olds and are engaging, informative and interactive. The books teach children about the way our brain works and how our negative, worrying thoughts are just that – thoughts. What gives a thought power is the emotion we attach to it and how much we focus on it -and they are not necessarily true! 

Using CBT (cognitive behavioral therapy), positive psychology and mindfulness techniques this book teaches children how to recognize these thoughts and how to choose a more helpful way of thinking. The HappiMe books complement the HappiMe app, a free, innovative app aimed at improving self-esteem and self-confidence in children, young people and adults. We are on a mission to rid the world of anxiety, worry and negative, self-sabotaging beliefs! 

100% of our parent readers said they would recommend this book to another parent! All profits from our books are reinvested to help keep the HappiMe apps free for children and young people. 


The adult version has a price ($3.99/£2.99) in order to keep the kids/teens apps free permanently!

Android ~ Apple
Android ~ Apple

Saturday, December 16, 2017

"Paper Love" by Aubrey Wynne!

 Audiobook Tour

Hiya peeps! I've got a new audiobook review for you today, perfect for this time of year! 

Thursday, December 14, 2017

"Case of the Cursed Dodo" by Jake G. Panda!

 Audiobook Tour

Hiya peeps! I'm excited to share this old-school style drama mystery, with plenty of humor. If you're a fan of mysteries, audiobooks, Zootopia, or film-noir, be sure to check out the audio excerpt and my review below, and enter the giveaway at the end of the post!

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

"How Santa Changed" by Karl Steam!

Hiya peeps! I've got a wonderful and festive holiday picture book for any of you with children to entertain this holiday season. Check it out - I'm sure you and your little ones will love it!

How Santa Changed

 How Santa Changed
~Author: Karl Steam

~IllustratorMaksym Stasiuk

~Released: November 8th, 2016

~Length: 38 Pages

~Genres: Fiction, Childrens Picture Book

Think you know Santa? Think again. Discover what Santa was like when he was young and the events that helped him become the jolly man we like so much. 

How Santa Changed is a story that explains many of the familiar things we associate with Santa Claus. Why does Santa use reindeer to pull his sleigh? Why does he have elves help him make toys? Why does he have a white beard? Why does he walk with jolly and cheer? 

Mrs. Claus is not left out either. If readers pay close attention, they will discover some of the strategies that helped her to become the most famous baker in history. 

This book contains timeless lessons for both children and adults alike, but not in an annoying way. It’s a story that loved ones will want to read year after year.

"Rebirth" Dystopian Review with Epic Sale Event!

Hiya peeps! I'm super excited to share a fantastic series event with you today. The author is having a massive sale for the 5th Book in the Series - the first three books in the series free for the week (Rebirth, Renegades and Retaliation) to celebrate the release of book 5, Retribution! That is epic! You can read the first three books free, and believe me, you'll want to. If you're a fan of the Hunger Games, Stranger Things, or any dystopian fantasy, you'll want to add this series to your collection.

~ About the Series ~

 Teaser #1

The United States have fallen. A new power has risen in North America, but now a terrifying virus is spreading across the countryside. Once infected, people change, mutating into superhuman creatures known as the Chead. Wherever they walk, death follows. Desperate to defend its citizens, the government launches the Praegressus Project – an experimental program to enhance the human race.

Elizabeth Flores was just a normal girl – until the Chead slaughtered her parents and made her a fugitive. With winter approaching she seeks refuge in the city of Sacramento, but the hunters are waiting. Abducted off the streets, she’s spirited away to a facility deep in the Californian mountains. There, Liz wakes in an iron cage – and she’s not alone.

In the opposite cage, Christopher Sanders stands wrongfully accused of treason. Along with Liz, he has just become a volunteer in the Praegressus Project. Stripped of their rights, they will soon learn there is little separating humanity from the monsters they seek to destroy. The two must work together if they want to survive, but even then, their chances are slim. Of course, only the lucky get to die.

Blending the insane experiments of Stranger Things and the haunting dystopia of the Hunger Games, fans will love this thrilling new series. Discover a future where the powerful rule without mercy, and nothing is ever as it seems. With hints of YA Dystopia, Genetic Scifi, Urban Fantasy and just a touch of Romance, the Praegressus Project truly has something for everyone. Enter a new world with New York Times Bestselling Author Aaron Hodges.

Check out my review of book 1 in the series, Rebirth before you pick up your copies HERE! =D

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

The Legend of the Sky Titans

Hiya peeps! I've got a new sci-fi adventure for you guys today, published a few weeks ago!

The Legend of the Sky Titans

 Legend of the Sky Titans
~Released: November 4th 2017

~Length: 225 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Sci-Fi

In post-apocalyptic America, two orphaned children raised as sharecroppers live together in a fragile, farm home. Michael Gilliganson Jr, the son of the world's greatest mercenary, Mopy, acts as the sole guardian of his little sister, Nya, after the death of their parents. But when the NeoMen (humanoid dinosaurs) invaded their small town, they take Nya hostage. Michael, who must now live up to his parent's legacy as the legendary Sky-Titan to save his sister, is gifted with his father's Badge of Alpha, a blue and yellow, badge-like device that gives him the ability to transform into the therianthropic god, Alpha to fight against the emergence of the tyrannical dinosaur dominated empire led by the evil King Mungfalme. He then joins forces with legendary werewolf hunter, Val Helsing (now known as Pappy), Jullian the Iota Eagle, the Vendor, Mr. Dalton, The Duke of Washington, and newcomer Samantha as they fight against the Dinosaurs to save and protect mankind from the brink of annihilation.

 About the Author

 Raleigh Daniels Jr.
Hello my name is Raleigh Daniels Jr and I have been writing stories for the past 15 years. I have a lot of experience. I love writing about werewolves and vampires, but twisting them up to call them my own. Writing is like an escape for me to run from the harsh reality to the utopia I create. I'm like God controlling my little children hehehe...wait is that out loud?

[I] like to watch a lot of science fiction films, fantasy films, some contemporary, little dramas, horrors (that aren't stereotypes) etc. If you are curious by what type of music I listen to, [well] I listen to soundtracks, New Age, classical music, Latino, hip hop, underground rap, underground hip hop, soft rock, and metal. You also caught the part that I like some pop music. 

Writing and reading has always been like a drug to me. Whenever I put words on a page I'm always pulled out from my chair into a world that I create, writing the sounds envisioned in my head, imagining myself in the pages where the words flow. 

These are the things us writers tend to see when we are high with the pen.

~ Connect with Raleigh Online ~

 My Review

Needs polishing, but not a bad story.

Sci-fi novels are generally entertaining, when done well. With an original story and some charismatic characters, it's difficult to go wrong. Luckily with The Legend of the Sky Titans, it is a unique story, and most of the characters are easy to follow and enjoy.

Michael has a massive weight on his shoulders, once his sister is kidnapped by humanoid dinosaurs. A problem like that calls for an extraordinary fix, and luckily for him, his family has him covered. With the help of his father's Badge of Alpha, and a band of evil-fighters (including Van Helsing), he is able to transform into the only creature strong enough to save humanity, and his sister. With plenty of imagination, action, tension, and a bit of humor, this book is not a bad way to spend an afternoon.

My only issue with it is mainly with the edition I got. It needs polishing, with grammatical and formatting issues littered throughout the chapters. It seems unfinished as I read it, but with the proper polishing and formatting, it's a solid 4-rose story.

If it looks interesting, be sure to add it to your tbr lists, and enjoy a new sci-fi adventure.

*I was given a complimentary eCopy of this book, from the author, to read in exchange for an honest review.

Thanks for visiting! Have a great day! =D

C.R. Richard's 2017 Holiday Tour!

 Holiday Tour

Author C.R. Richards is in the holiday spirit, and giving away some incredible gifts this month! Check out my post for her "Stocking Full of Prizes" tour for your chance to win some incredible items:

Amazon Gift Card
A Snuggly Stuffed Lion
Signed Copies of Both Books in the Heart of the Warrior Series

Check out the exclusive author interview before you enter the two giveaways available at the bottom of the post!

Thursday, December 7, 2017

"Home Economics for Girls" Tour with Interview & $50 Giveaway!

Hiya peeps! I've got an audiobook review for you today, featuring not only my thoughts, but an audio excerpt, interview with the author, and a giveaway for $50!

Check it out, and be sure to leave a comment before you go! =D

Wednesday, December 6, 2017

"Snobbity Snowman" by Maria Bardyukova & Quiet Riley Jr.!

Hiya peeps! I've got a fun season-friendly children's book to share with you guys today, and hopefully you'll enjoy it! If you've got kids, be sure to check it out! =D

Snobbity Snowman

 Snobbity Snowman
~Authors: Maria Bardyukova & Quiet Riley Jr.

~Released: October 1st, 2017

~Genres: Childrens, Picture Book, Holiday

Snobbity Snowman has everything a snowman could possibly want: a shiny hat, freshly-picked noses and enough pride to last a lifetime. In fact, he is so selfish and shortsighted that he fails to see the instance his life starts falling apart.

What disasters must take place to open his charcoal eyes? To help him see that pride and possessions cannot bring true happiness? Will he defrost his ego and embrace the warmth of companionship?

Only Snobbity can tell.

Depicting winter in rich and whimsical tones, Snobbity Snowman’s quirky characters and unexpected twists promise to leave a lasting impression on all its snobbulous readers.

Tuesday, December 5, 2017

December Update

Hiya peeps! I wanted to write a quick post to update ya'll on what's happening on Desert Rose Reviews.

I haven't been accepting review requests for most of the year, but opened them back up in August, and boy, did those flood gates open! Since mid-August, I've received over 300 requests. I've accepted a good number of them, and am currently booked through the beginning of April.

I am so humbled and amazed at how many authors want to work with me, and have requested reviews! I've remembered, through the last few months, why I started this blog in the first place - because I love books! I love helping authors promote their books, and I love sharing my passion for books with others.

Really, I guess this is a thank you post, for every author who's worked with me, and every reader who's visited my blog. I hope everyone who comes to my site finds a new favorite story!

I'm excited to keep diving into these books, and can't wait to see what happens next! Thank you everyone who's supported me through the years, and stuck by me as I went through my funk. I'm back now, and loving it!

I hope you're all having a marvelous holiday season, and for those of you who celebrate it, have a Merry Christmas! =D

God bless, & ciao!

@Desert Rose Reviews

Monday, December 4, 2017

"A Day in the Life" by Theodore Ficklestein!

Hiya peeps! I've got a review of a new release, full of humor - both attempted, and accomplished. Check it out, and be sure to leave a comment down below before you go!

A Day in the Life

 A Day in the Life
~Author: Theodore Ficklestein

~Released: September 22nd 2017

~Publisher: GenZ

~Length: 136 Pages

~Genres: Fiction

A Day In The Life is Theodore Ficklestein’s debut novel about Nickolas Cripp, a college student finding his way in the world. Although Nick won’t admit it, he is the main focus to a young adult book that follows him from his home to college to the city, where he wants to attend an open mic.

Along his path, he encounters a teacher who asks about the apocalypse, a drunk on the train and two friends who feel writing isn’t Nick’s strong point, among others. Nick soon finds out that the funniest things in life aren’t that funny at all, and the greatest comedians never go up on stage.
As he goes through his day, one oddball character at a time, Nick starts to question if the comedy club he dreams of being in, is really for him. Should he be who he wants to be? Or who the world thinks he should be? Neither of which, he is entirely sure about.

A personal journey of self-discovery through the eyes of a youth yearning for meaning in a meaningless world; Nick learns that in life, the joke is on you.

Tuesday, November 28, 2017

"The Ivory Staff" by M. Lachi! Review & Giveaway!

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! I've got an audiobook review for you today! The Ivory Staff is an exciting adventure, full of danger, mystery, and love.

Check out my review below, and enter the giveaway for a chance to win $25 in PayPal cash!

Monday, November 27, 2017

Paperless Post Site Experience Review!

Hiya peeps! I've got a new kind of review to share with you today, and hopefully quite fitting for the current holiday season.

With so many events coming up for most of us, there are cards and invites to send out. Even without this time of year, there are always birthday parties, baby showers, weddings, graduations, and who knows what else going on. It gets time consuming, doesn't it? I am personally terrible at remembering to send out cards, Best intentions aside, it rarely ever happens. I used to send ecards as a kid, because even then, it was time consuming to get cards and send them out on time. First world problems, hu?

Still, we have to function in the world we're in, and that means events and parties. So, where do you go to get your cards? How long does it take for you to send out invites? Do you even have time, or do you just send out mass emails or texts, and wish there was a more elegant way to announce your event?

I always wonder the same thing, because sending mass emails gets old, but organizing individual cards by hand takes so much time! With busy schedules and an already alarming lack of sleep, any help we can get is fabulous, right?

Recently, I've been wishing there was a good site to send cards and invites, in a new and modern way. God must have been listening, because I was invited to partner with a site called Paperless Post, to try out their system, and let you guys know what I think. Whoot!

I jumped on the opportunity, and it was quite an experience!

Check out my review below, and be sure to visit the site for yourself!

Online cards aren't a new thing, at all. They are fast, convenient, and featured dancing happy faces far before memes or gifs. Many sites are still stuck in the 90s or early 2000s though, and need an upgrade. With the desire for a more modern feel to an eCard site, I approached the Paperless Post site with quite a bit of hope. I was definitely impressed.

Designed with a clean, simplistic look, easy layout, and modern cards to choose from, they are a simple go-to option. With the ability to create an account with an address book, you can securely store your contact email addresses for quick card sending, and even make a favorites list for cards you know you'll love to use! They aren't free, but the price is definitely cheaper than buying a card and stamps. Not only that, it saves paper - who doesn't love that?

The process to find a card or invite, apply coins, customize and send them off is so simple! For the holiday season, as well as several friends with birthdays around this time of year, it's a quick and convenient method for me to show them I'm thinking about them. It's also a super simple way to send invites, and with holiday parties, weddings, and all sorts of family things seemingly always happening, it's a game changer. I don't need to stress about sending invites for my next event, and that's such a major help!

If you're looking for a great site to organize and send clean, amazing looking invites, birthday or holiday cards, thank you cards, or any other kind of card, definitely check out Paperless Post. With their option to design your own card, you know there's always a way to send the exact card you want, no matter what.

*I am partnered with Paperless Post, and was given a complementary amount of coins to use, in order to test and review the site.

Sounds fantastic, hu? Not only is their site set up beautifully, they have an app you can download as well, making it even easier to fit sending invites and cards into our busy schedule. They have you covered no matter what you're needing - from birthdays, weddings, parties, business events, and every day cards. There's even a way to send custom made flyers!

It's an elegant way to bring your card/invite game into the modern world, without sacrificing anything. What have you got to lose? Check out Paperless Post, and I'm sure you'll love them just as much as I do.

Thanks so much for visiting, and be sure to leave a comment below and let me know what you think of this post!

Have a lovely day!

Saturday, November 25, 2017

"Soul Bound" Book Tour!

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! I've got a suspenseful story to share with you today, and the tagline is just the best: 

"It's not about the Happily Ever After...
It's about surviving the read."

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

"The Infinity Gene" by Sue Wyshynski!

 Book Tour!

Hiya peeps! I'm participating in a review tour today, for the second book in a great sci-fi series! Check out my review from yesterday of the first book if you'd like, before you read this one, and be sure to enter the giveaway at the end of the post!

"Exposure" by Sylvie Parizeau!

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! Check out this series review, enter the giveaway, and be sure to leave a comment before you go!

Tuesday, November 21, 2017

"Permanent Happiness" by Iyabo Ojikutu!

Hiya peeps! As I'm sure you know, I don't tend to review self-help books. In fact, I don't read them. Like, ever. When the request for this one came in though, it sounded interesting, especially for the time of year. I figured some of you may be able to find help from it, so decided to give it a whirl! Check out my review below, and let me know what you think of it in the comments below!

Permanent Happiness: The Only Way to Find Peace, Joy and your Life-Given Purpose

 Permanent Happiness
~AuthorIyabo Ojikutu

~Released: May 24th, 2017

~Length: 218 Pages

~Genres: Nonfiction, Spirituality, Self Help

“Another book about happiness?” What does this one have to say that we all have not heard before? And is happiness really an achievable state of being? 

We never stop craving happiness. It is the world’s most sought-after feeling and emotion. As we wake up each morning, we do so hoping to find happiness in all that we experience, whether we are consciously aware of this desire or not. 

We do, of course, find happiness at different points and phases in our lives. The problem is, this situational happiness tends to be short lived. We are happy for a few days and then fall back into anxiety, sadness, and/or worry. 

Permanent Happiness outlines three easy steps to pursuing permanent happiness. It tackles key life situations we encounter during our daily living and shows how to pursue peace and be positive influencers on those around us. When our lives are in balance, we discover we let go of the stress and worry that arise when life throws us curveballs. 

Get ready to be challenged and inspired. More importantly, get ready to learn about and understand permanent happiness and peace from a different perspective! 

 Iyabo Ojikutu
A pediatrician in Atlanta, I’ve dedicated my medical career to caring for children and to teaching medical students. In December 2015, two months after my father passed, I was suddenly inspired to start writing and completed my first book in February 2016. I discovered the beauty and peace writing brought me, and I haven't stopped since. I'm currently writing my third book and continuing my journey for permanent happiness—peace.

I was born in Lagos, Nigeria. Upon graduating from secondary school, I entered medical school at age 16. After completing my medical degree and internship at 23 years old, I left for England, where I practiced as a pediatrician for four years. In 1998 I moved to the United States, completed residency in the Bronx, New York, and then relocated to Atlanta in 2001.

I opened my pediatric practice in 2004, and this is still serving the community. I live in Atlanta with my two daughters, 19 and 13 years old.

~ Connect with Iyabo Online ~

"Peace is permanent happiness.
Happiness is good, but is not enough. Peace is good, and is enough."

The first couple sentences are, alone, profound. They not only give you several things to think about, but a clear idea of what the rest of the pages contain. Peace and happiness are things everyone basically hopes to achieve someday in their lives, right?

In this book, Dr. Ojikutu writes clearly, as she explains her ideas on how to achieve both. While the ideas seem somewhat echoed from other self-help authors and "gurus" of personal health, her way of writing about each area is simple, and said in ways I'd certainly never heard before. At several points, I found myself simply staring into space, pondering the things she'd written, feeling more at peace simply for having processed the suggested outlook and mentality.

Instead of a book filled with personal anecdotes and stories that rarely apply to many other people, as most of the books in this genre seem to feature, this book focuses more on the goal of achieving those first two lines. It stays on point, focuses on the reader, and connects each area of an individual's life, in a way that makes it clear how to become balanced, and peaceful, therefore achieving happiness. Even for those who believe they are happy, there are probably things you could gain from this, that would flip your mentality a bit, and improve your current state of being.

I'm honestly not one for self-help literature. They've never been my area of interest, and aside from "Chicken Noodle Soup for the Soul" when I was in high school, I've never looked into reading one out of personal desire. When approached to review this one, I was skeptical, but thought it may be beneficial to others who enjoy the genre, therefore worthwhile. I am glad I agreed, because it's given me a bit to think about, and a new way of looking at my own personal health, in ways I didn't realize I needed to. I am thankful to have had the opportunity to experience this book, and definitely recommend it to anyone seeking peace, happiness, and general balance to the hectic, chaotic mess we call life.

*I was given a complimentary eCopy of this book, from the author, to read in exchange for an honest review.

Be sure to let me know what you think of this book in the comments below! Do you read self-help books?

Thanks for visiting!
Have a great day! =D

"The Butterfly Code" by Sue Wyshynski!

Hiya peeps! So, I'm participating in a review tour for The Butterfly Code tomorrow, but I hadn't read the first book yet. I have to read that one anyway, so figured, why not review it too? Not a requested review, but a lot of fun, an necessary for the book I signed up to review.

So, check that out below, then get ready for the review and giveaway for the sequel tomorrow!

The Butterfly CodeGirl On Fire, #1

 The Butterfly Code
~Released: October 15th 2015

~Publisher: Whitman Books

~Length: 346 Pages

~Genres: Sci-Fi, Paranormal, Young Adult

My name is Aeris Thorne. I am a genetically modified human. 


All it took was a chance meeting--one tingling glance across a darkened street to change my life.

I'd been searching for my two best friends in the crowded Zenith Club, which was a really bad idea because I'm totally claustrophobic. 

I burst outside, and that's when I came face-to-face with the incredibly gorgeous Hunter Cayman. Dark-haired, tall, and leaning against an insane sports car, my pulse went haywire. Maybe things weren't so bad after all. The young doctor had his long muscular arms crossed over his leather jacket clad chest, and all his six-foot something would make any girl's knees turn weak. But then, if what Ella said was true, Hunter was the kind of guy who left behind a trail of broken hearts. And heartache was the last thing I needed right now.

Yet there's something strange, something almost superhuman about Hunter. It's more than that infuriatingly knowing grin. I'm trying to stop thinking about him, and I get the feeling he's avoiding me, too. Yet Deep Cove is a tiny town and every time we run into each other the tension literally crackles, sparking around us. It just figures that when suddenly I'm in danger, he's there to save me.

In truth, I should be dead. By all the logic in this world, I should be shattered to pieces. How fast was I going on that ATV when I smashed into those iron gates? Ninety? A hundred? And the men who were chasing me, where did they go?

Somehow I'm whole.

Maybe better than whole. 

There's no one I can talk to, not even my best friend, Gage. Gage hates Hunter. He wants Hunter's laboratory to be shut down. He thinks Hunter's a monster. And yet, if that's true, if Hunter's a monster...than what am I? I'm not sure what terrifies me more, the metamorphosis taking place inside me, or the intensely powerful connection with a guy whose heart and soul has become linked with mine.

Monday, November 20, 2017

"Catch Me If You Can" by Miss Mae!

 Audiobook Tour

Sunday, November 19, 2017

"The Final Year Project" by Mehana Usha Rani!

Hiya peeps! I've got a new release to share with you today, fitting for college students and fans of college-age drama stories.

Check it out, and be sure to let me know what you think in the comments below!

The Final Year Project

 The Final Year Project
~Released: November 29th, 2017

~Genres: New Adult, Young Adult, College, Contemporary, Drama

Om Prakash, a senior at Amra College of Technology, is getting ready to spend his final year with his friends, Vikram, Sid and Dev. They want to do something special to commemorate their last year but with no plans yet, they attend the Freshers’ Day Inauguration Ceremony.

Enter Sara, the class topper of the freshers batch who looks as perfect as her test scores. Om is instantly smitten. With that, Vikram announces their final year project: Om ♥ Sara. Om has no objections.

But Sara does.

Unamused by their harassment and hell-bent on revenge, Sara infiltrates their all-male Boxing Club joining as their team manager. Om tries hard to keep peace amongst the team; struggling to hide his affection for her while his friends suffer under her leadership. But when a ghost from the past comes back to haunt the boys, Om finds reason to believe Sara joining the club might have nothing to do with what happened at the ceremony. The very friends he’s trying so hard to protect have secrets of their own. And it’s up to Om to dig deeper before someone gets hurt. 

 About the Author

 Mehana Usha Rani
Born and raised in sunny Singapore, Mehana Usha Rani is an alter ego residing in the mind of a 23-year-old.

Despite holding a degree in Economics, Rani has a special interest in writing all things noneconomic and is set to publish her debut novel, The Final Year Project, by the end of 2017.

~ Connect with Mehana Online ~

3 1/2 Roses


Drama meets danger, settled in the boxing ring.

College is a place of jokes and drama for this group of friends. With a sassy chick giving a group of guys a hard time, you're bound to run into some laughs, drama, and a few fights. While Om tries to keep the peace between his crush and his prankster friends, secrets break free of their shadows, turning the little group into a mess.

While this particular style of novel isn't my personal taste, it wasn't bad. Written in a way most college students tend to act and think, it would be fitting for readers of that nature. From the first paragraphs, you get a taste of the drama that drips from nearly every page. High in emotion and energy, the whole story ends up being quite exhausting, even though it's not all that long.

I like the way the chapters were set up, breaking up the story by semesters, which fit the setting. The writing style is very bullet point written, as each new emotion and reaction is listed and pointed out. Set up almost as a screenplay with play-by-play movements and reactions, detailing each character in a somewhat detached sort of style. While it wasn't bad, it isn't my particular taste, and I had a difficult time really getting into the story.

Overall, this book wasn't bad, by any means. I think it holds a lot of appeal for many readers, and could easily grow to have a large following of fans and satisfied readers. If it sounds like your cup of tea, give it a shot. There is a bit of language throughout both the dialogue and narrative, which would be my only warning. If that doesn't bother you, hopefully you'll enjoy it!

*I was given a complimentary eCopy of this book, from the author, to read in exchange for an honest review.

Let me know what you think of this book, in the comments below!

Thanks for visiting!

Have a great day! =D