Friday, August 18, 2017

"Dream Frequency" by S.J. Lomas!


Hiya peeps! I've got a sequel to share with you today.

I shared the first book in the series (Dream Girl), including a Top Ten post of too listened to songs by the author, a couple years ago. Now, the sequel is finally released, and I'm excited to share it with you today!


Dream Frequency

 Dream Frequency
~Released: June 30th, 2017

~Length: 413 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy


Christine would never have considered herself new recruit material for a secret U.S. agency. Until recently, she's just been an ordinary girl graduating from high school and wondering if a friendship with Gabriel, a mysterious coworker, would grow into something romantic. When Christine's fascination with Gabriel leads to her discovery of dreamworlds, she learns that she's anything but ordinary. In this thrilling conclusion to Dream Girl, Christine and Gabriel must choose their allegiances and face corruption, conspiracy, and the complexities of love in order to save themselves and everyone who matters to them - or die trying.

"The Unlikeable Demon Hunter" by Deborah Wilde!


Hiya peeps! Check out this new romantic urban fantasy!

The Unlikeable Demon Hunter

Nava Katz #1

 The Unlikeable Demon Hunter
~Published: April 18th 2017

~Genres: Adult, Romance, Urban Fantasy

99¢ for a limited time only!

Bridesmaids meets Buffy with a dash of the seven deadly sins.

The age-old story of what happens when a foul-mouthed, romance impaired heroine with no edit button and a predilection for hot sex is faced with her worst nightmare–a purpose.

Ari Katz is intelligent, driven, and will make an excellent demon hunter once initiated into the Brotherhood of David. However, this book is about his twin Nava: a smart-ass, self-cultivated hot mess, who is thrilled her brother is stuck with all the chosen one crap.

When Nava half-drunkenly interrupts Ari’s induction ceremony, she expects to be chastised. What she doesn’t expect is to take her brother’s place among the–until now–all-male demon hunters. Even worse? Her infuriating leader is former rock star Rohan Mitra.

Too bad Rohan’s exactly what Nava’s always wanted: the perfect bad boy fling with no strings attached, because he may also be the one to bring down her carefully erected emotional shields. That’s as dangerous as all the evil fiends vying for the bragging rights of killing the only female ever chosen for Demon Club.

Odds of survival: eh.

Odds of having a very good time with Rohan before she bites it: much better.

Thursday, August 17, 2017

"Rowan Wood Legends" by Olivia Wildenstein!

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! Check out this paranormal novel, featuring faeries!

Rowan Wood Legends

(The Lost Clan #2)

 Rowan Wood Legends
~Released: August 14th 2017

~Genres: Paranormal, Romance, Faeries

Lost Clan #1:
Rose Petal Graves

Goodreads
Amazon

SOME LEGENDS ARE BETTER LEFT UNTOLD.

I wasn’t the sort of girl who believed in fairytales, let alone tales about faeries. But that changed the day Faeries came to my small town and Hunters rose from their graves. 

On that fateful day, I received a book, a peculiar collection of myths and legends. Turns out it was so much more than stories. And just as I was on the verge of unlocking its secrets, it was stolen from me by someone I called a friend. 

Now, I don’t know whom I can turn to, whom I can trust. All I know is that there are two sides, and I am straddling the great divide because I am both Faerie and Hunter. And although I swore I would never choose, I am slowly falling for one of those sides…

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Shapeshifter Review for "Aranya" by Marc Secchia!

 Aranaya

Hiya peeps! I've got an exciting fantasy adventure to share with you today, and I hope you love it!! Check out the audio excerpt and my review, and be sure to let me know if you're adding this one to your reading piles!

Aranya

Shapeshifter Dragons, Book 1

 Aranya
~Author: Marc Secchia

~Narrator: Siromi Arserio

~Released: April 05, 2015

~Length: 14 hours 33 minutes / 454 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance


Chained to a rock and tossed off a cliff by her boyfriend, Aranya is executed for high treason against the Sylakian Empire. Falling a league into the deadly Cloudlands is not a fate she ever envisaged. But what if she did not die? What if she could spread her wings and fly?

Long ago, Dragons ruled the Island-World above the Cloudlands. But their Human slaves cast off the chains of Dragonish tyranny. Humans spread across the Islands in their flying Dragonships, colonising, building and warring. Now, the all-conquering Sylakians have defeated the last bastion of freedom–the Island-Kingdom of Immadia.

Evil has a new enemy. Aranya, Princess of Immadia. Dragon Shapeshifter.

Thursday, August 10, 2017

Shameless Self Promotion!

Hiya peeps! I had a couple of open days this week, so I thought I'd fill one of them with some (very awkward) self promotion!

Becoming an author has been the best experience of my working life thus far. At the same time, it's also the most difficult job I could have picked for myself, as I hate talking about myself, or things I've done.

But! To be an author, you must talk about your books! So, I'm sharing one of my books with you all today. It is perma-FREE on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Smashwords! Written to appeal to fans of young adult paranormal adventure, this is the first book in a clean, action-packed series. It is finished for the moment, with all three books available, so you can plow through the story as quickly as you'd like!

Check it out below, and if you do pick up a copy, please leave a review. Thank you! =D

Desi Pere
Swirling Secrets, #1


 Desi Pere
~Released: February 2nd, 2016

~Length: 444 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Supernatural, Adventure

~Parent's Guide: PG-17


Magnhild, is a freak. From her name, right down to her naturally bizarre visage - she's an odd duck.

Her life has taken a swirling plunge into the drain the past few months, but it's nothing compared to what's coming. All she wants is to finish school, and start over somewhere fun. 

Fate, has other plans. 

Enter the Desi Pere underground organization, and three of it's loyal members. They've enlisted Magnhild's cooperation, whether she likes it or not. They mean to exploit her superhuman gifts - secrets she didn't think anyone knew about. The bait: reuniting her with her mother…who's supposed to be dead.

Overnight, she's dragged into a hidden world - and a war - the normal world knows nothing about. 

Danger, confusion, deception, and self-loathing fog each decision Magnhild faces. She desperately hopes to find her mother, and bring meaning to her past of abuse and isolation. Will she see through the web society has spun around her, or fall captive to century-old lies? In her search for the truth, she discovers she cannot find what she seeks, without first accepting herself, finding her inner strength, and embracing her bizarre life...


Praise for Desi Pere


"Entertaining, quirky, creative, and adventurous - this book is a lot of fun. ... This novel is an 'X-Men meets Dr. Evil' kind of young adult paranormal adventure." An Amazon Customer

"Very poignant and a page turner!!" Amazon Customer

"This is one of those books you can't put down!" Amazon Customer

"I definitely recommend for fans of young adult paranormal." Author Jessica Frances



Add to Goodreads!

Desi Pere (Swirling Secrets, #1)
Desi Pere (Swirling Secrets, #1)



Thanks a bunch for visiting, and be sure to let me know if you pick up a copy! =D


Saturday, August 5, 2017

Two Historical Fiction Novels! ~ My Reviews!

Hiya peeps! I've got two interesting novels today, for a virtual blog tour organized by Roger Charlie.

These books are fitting for anyone who enjoys historical fiction. One focuses on the lives of two people living in 20th century NYC, and how their lives unfold for a time. The second is the sequel, where this couple join a few others in dealing with the post Pearl Harbor bombing, as the U.S. enters WWII.

Be sure to check them out, and see my review for each book below! =D


 Sheldon Friedman
Sheldon Friedman was born in St. Joseph Missouri. He lives in Denver, Colorado. He is a University of Denver graduate and practiced law in Denver until 2008. He taught legal courses at the University of Colorado Law School, University of Denver Law School and Daniels School of Business at the University of Denver. After leaving his law firm he joined a national mediation and arbitration firm until January, 2016. He is also an accomplished playwright, having a number of local readings and productions. His play The Long Goodbye was staged at Denver's Crossroad's Theater in 2010. His book, The Velvet Prison was named as a 2017 fiction award finalist by the Colorado Author's League.

~ Connect with Sheldon Online ~




The Velvet Prison


 The Velvet Prison
~Released: September 14th, 2016

~Length: 244 Pages

~Genres: Historical Fiction

~Parent's Guide: PG-17


Against the pulsating back drop of a New York City in social and economic change, young Travis Kane struggles with his passion to be an artist painter, and the conservative demands of his strict grandfather, Barclay Kane.

His mother, unable to come to terms with tragedy, has taken Travis’s infant sister and abandons him, leaving their house in Gramercy Park, and Travis to be raised by the grandfather he adores.

Travis enters a New York speakeasy, with a unique idea, that will change his life, leading him on an exciting journey, meeting Manhattan’s privileged, studying in art in Paris and, finding his way to Broadway.

Meanwhile, Lindsay Wayne’s mother, seamstress, has a secret, and a passion. Her daughter will become a famous stage actress, and this is her focus.

Lindsay and Travis’s worlds collide.
Their lives will never be the same again.





A flashback to the past.

History has always fascinated me. I adore learning new ways people used to survive and thrive - how did life used to look? It's hard to believe where this book starts off is already a hundred years ago, especially considering how relatable the characters and their life are.

Travis's life is, sadly, all too common. Echoed again and again even in today's current climate, growing up with pain and the constant tension in the world, the threat of war constantly looming in the distance. He shows his character in several situations, following his artist's heart, even when life gets surprising and a little messy. The secret thread connecting him and Lindsay was easy to guess, and I supposed a bit predictable from the first few chapters, however I didn't feel as though I missed out. The progression was done well, and revealed in an entertaining way.

I liked Lindsay quite a bit. She was the kind of girl most of us enjoy having in our circle of friends, and is always an interesting person to be around. I enjoyed her personality, and how she interacted with other people. I can't help but take notice of how women are thought to have behaved in the past, and the contrast between her Hannah were striking, given their relationship. I think she was naive for constantly defending Hannah, instead of admitting the woman needed some help, and being more realistic about the overall situation. Still, it fit her personality to be a bit stubborn, and was more of a character trait than an actual complaint.

In the same ways the author described Travis painting, he created this book with a lot of color, making it easy to see what is meant to be important. The focus isn't so much the state of the war, or any particular country. It isn't a political statement piece, but rather a look into what an ordinary life would have looked like, and a taste of reality, from the view point of some well-created characters. Each one grew quite a bit, and were defined very well throughout the story.

My only complaint, is that the story lagged somewhat in a few places, with a bit too much emphasis was put on keeping things 'mysterious' for the reader, while other places felt far too rushed. It seems as though details could have been explained a in a more crisp manner, and the flow balanced better. Even so, the story overall was entertaining, and I would recommend it to other historical fiction fans.

*I was given a complimentary eCopy of this book, from the author, to read in exchange for an honest review.



The Satin Sash


 The Satin Sash
~Released: April 4th, 2017

~Length: 198 Pages

~Genres: Historical Fiction

~Parent's Guide: PG-17


After the Japanese attack Pearl Harbor in 1941, American lives change dramatically. The Satin Sash continues the breathtaking lives of Travis Kane, Lindsay Wayne and Jean-Paul Renault with all the inherent dangers of the French Resistance, President Roosevelt’s live or die missions, and death defying action when German spies secretly enter the US through it’s ports. A wedding reception and the lives of Travis Kane and his family are thrown into chaos as America enters World War II.

The Satin Sash is set against the explosive backgrounds of New York, France, London and Ireland. Travis Kane becomes President Roosevelt’s tool in bringing one of the world’s most famous paintings to New York. Racial tensions surface. A famous black activist enters politics and an actress makes choices in the face of heartbreaking tragedy. A public enemy serves his country in wartime and a black artist becomes famous. When a baby is born the future shows promise.

With tension, suspense and surprising plot twists, we continue to follow the lives of the people we loved in The Velvet Prison




The gang is all grown up!

Travis and his companions seem to have a knack for finding and creating drama. The overall feel of this book reminded me of The Great Gatsby, with it's flare for dramatic and flamboyant situations and overall feel. While the characters all fit themselves, they each seemed to become a bit emotional - which was even noted in a joke by one of the characters.

While I enjoyed the progression of the story, I had been hoping for a different kind of story. The actions of each character were far more influenced by world events, which is fitting, but made it somewhat predictable and not quite as satisfying as the prequel. I suppose it's all in personal preference, but from the synopsis, I had simply been expecting something a bit different.

All that to say, this was still a good story. Seeing each character handle the different aspects of the confrontations made for an easy look at the different nations involved. While there didn't seem to be an overall point or message of the story, it was interesting to see the differences in the nations, and people dealing with war.

I did enjoy this book, and the plot twists surrounding several of the characters. The cultural differences of the period were portrayed well, and gives a stark contrast to the world we live in today. The author set the story up well, and the flow was far better than the previous book. I would recommend this to fans of The Velvet Prison, and would be interested in reading other books by this author.

*I was given a complimentary eCopy of this book, from the author, to read in exchange for an honest review.


Do you enjoy historical novels? Let me know in the comments below!

Thanks for visiting! Have a wonderful day! =D

Thursday, July 27, 2017

Seraphina Series Review & Giveaway!

 Book Tour

Hiya peeps! I've got an epic post for you today. It's an entire paranormal romance trilogy I reviewed from this promo tour, as well as a mega giveaway at the end!

Check it out, and be sure to let me know in the comments what you think of this series!


Wednesday, July 19, 2017

"The Essential Carl Mahogany" Promo Post!

 Book Tour!

Hiya guys! Check out this new novel! I've included an author interview below - check it out!

The Essential Carl Mahogany

 The Essential Carl Mahogany
~Released: March 24th, 2017 

~Length: 270 Pages

~Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Neo-Western


What can an award-winning Nashville singer/songwriter learn about himself by agreeing to a best-of tour in a beat up old van? If it means getting out from under the thumb of a label that considers him washed up, he’s willing to find out. At least until an ex-lover wants to come along for the ride.

Carl Mahogany’s not your average protagonist. In the practiced drawl of the aging country singer, and echoing Edward Abbey’s Henry Lightcap, Boddicker takes us across the country in an Americana-steeped journey through Mahogany’s roots. Encounters with old friends and lovers, including the Eisenhower Interstate System, a firecracker tenured professor, former bandmates, and a down-to-earth small town mechanic, shake the dust out of Mahogany's creases to revision his life.

If a lifetime of travel, songwriting and performing equates to learning to work with the monsters inside us, The Essential Carl Mahogany is that journey. Grab a six pack, settle into the cushions, and come along for the ride.

Friday, July 14, 2017

Audiobook Review of "Gold Rush" by Jennifer Comeaux!


Hiya guys! I'm super stoked to share a new audiobook with you today! I've featured this author on my blog a few times already, but I hadn't  yet had the opportunity to read on of her books. I'm a huge fan of ice skating though, so her book topics always appeal to me.

When the chance to review this one came up, I jumped on it! Check out my review, and be sure to let me know what you think of this book in the comments below!

Gold Rush

 Gold Rush
~Released: January 9th 2017

~Length: 11 Hours, 39 Mins

~Narrator: Emily Stokes

~Parent's Rating: PG-14

~Genres: Young Adult, New Adult, Romance


Liza Petrov’s entire life has been about skating and winning her sport’s top prize – Olympic gold. She’s stayed sheltered inside her bubble, not daring to stray from her destined path. Until she meets Braden Patrick. He makes her heart flutter with possibility, and for the first time she gets a taste of a normal teenage life. She longs to have both the boy and the gold, but stepping outside her bubble comes with a price. As Liza begins to question both her future and her past, can she stay focused on the present and realize her ultimate dream?

Saturday, July 8, 2017

"The Book of Dragons" Audiobook by E. Nesbit!

 Book Tour!

Hiya peeps! I've got another audiobook review to share with you today, and this one is pretty darn cool! It's a modern narration of a classic collection of tales, all about dragons! Check out my review, an interview I had with the narrator, and an audio excerpt!

The Book of Dragons

The Book of Dragons, Books 1-8

 The Book of Dragons
~Author: E. Nesbit

~Narrator: Karen Krause

~Released: January 26, 2017

~Publisher: Listen2aBook.com

~Length: 4 hours, 53 minutes

~Genre: Classic Fantasy


Edith (E.) Nesbit was a master at weaving imagination and real life into timeless fairy tales, with fantastic mythical creatures, princes and princesses, magic, and just the right touch of silliness. This is a collection of nine of her fairy tales with a common theme - Dragons! For children from five to 95, these stories are not to be taken seriously. Let your imagination run wild!

Friday, July 7, 2017

"Mind Virus" by Charles Kowalski!

Book Tour!

Hiya guys! Today I'm participating in a review tour hosted by Roger Charlie, for a brand new thriller - Mind Virus. My review is below, so be sure to check that out, and let me know what you think in the comments below!

Mind Virus

 Mind Virus
~Released: July 1st, 2017

~Publisher: Literary Wonderlust

~Parent's Guide: PG-17

~Genres: Adult Fiction, Mystery, Thriller


Robin Fox is a peace-loving professor of world religions, trying to atone for his crimes as a U.S. Army interrogator. But at a Washington prayer rally, a suspect is caught trying to disperse a rare encephalitis virus, the same one used in an attack in Iraq that Fox once foiled. A CIA agent, John Adler, asks Fox for help.

Troubled by this request, Fox consults Emily Hart, his colleague at the United States Peace Research Institute and wife of its strongest supporter in Congress. She, however, has her own troubles. Leila Halabi, a Palestinian peace educator, has disappeared on the way to Washington for a lecture tour. Fox accepts Adler's request, in exchange for the CIA's help in finding Leila.

Fox works with a joint FBI-CIA interrogation team, and worries that Adler's prejudice against Muslims is clouding his judgment. The suspect eventually reveals that he is part of an international conspiracy to eradicate religion, "using one virus to cure another".

Fox deduces that the next attack is planned for Israel during Passover. Meanwhile, Emily learns that Leila has been imprisoned in Israel, and travels there to campaign for her release. Spurred by danger to the woman he loves – although he could never admit it, even to himself – Fox boards a plane that will reach Tel Aviv before her.

By careful observation, Fox catches another suspect at Ben-Gurion Airport. Now a hero to Israel, he persuades the head of Shin Bet to release Leila and let him interrogate the suspect.

He infers that the next attack is planned for Jerusalem on Holy Saturday. Joined by Adler, he sets up surveillance at the Church of the Holy Sepulchre, but fails to prevent an explosion.

Suspecting that this attack was a diversion, Fox reinterprets his clues and concludes that the real target is the Vatican. He and Adler fly to Rome in time to catch a suspect in the act of planting an aerosol device in the dome of St. Peter's during Easter Vigil Mass. Fox breaks her silence by intimating that her love for the group's mastermind has been betrayed. She reveals the name by which she knows him, and gives up enough information to identify the next target: Westminster Abbey, at an Easter service with the Royal Family attending. But at the same time, he receives a menacing message: Emily has been abducted by the mastermind, who threatens to kill her if any cameras catch Fox there.

Fox goes to London, enters the Abbey in disguise, and uncovers the most elaborate strategy yet: a sleeper agent in the Abbey choir planted the virus in a fire extinguisher, and used a time-release flammable agent to make the Archbishop's vestments spontaneously combust.

After stopping the attack, Fox roughs up the suspect but learns nothing. His escort from the Security Service takes him to question the mastermind's mentor at Oxford. Shocked to hear how his teachings have been twisted, he gives up a name: Theodore Gottlieb. They go to Gottlieb's house, to find him calmly awaiting them with high tea and high explosives.

After a standoff, the bombs detonate and set fire to the house. Fox, cut off from the police, has to chase Gottlieb to the room where Emily is being held hostage. Using his military training, he succeeds in seizing Gottlieb's pistol, but his principles of nonviolence will not allow him to shoot. They struggle, Gottlieb falls, and the firefighters rescue Fox and Emily in time.

They return to Washington. Adler has promised to tell the Saudis about the final target, Mecca during the Hajj, but Fox suspects he is lying and goes to the Saudi embassy himself. A furious phone call from Adler confirms his suspicions: the CIA was planning to let the attack proceed, and use an Army-designed antiserum to blackmail the entire Muslim world.

After launching Leila's tour, Fox and Emily walk together through the GWU campus. He yearns to tell her that, when he was sure his life was over, his only thought was of her. But discretion trumps valor, and when they say goodnight, his true feelings for her are still a secret.

Thursday, July 6, 2017

"In Her Blood" by Janice Jones!


Hiya peeps! Check out this new adult supernatural romance! It's the first book in the series, and is featured with a giveaway at the end of the post!

The Dagger Chronicles #1

 In Her Blood
~Published: May 1st 2015

~Publisher: Amberjack Publishing

~Genres: New Adult, Romance, Supernatural


Alex Stone wants to pretend the supernatural doesn’t exist.

As the owner of a hot new clothing line, the only thing she’s killing is her competition – until she gets a phone call from her past. As the Dagger, she was a member of the covert ops team tasked with hunting threats of the supernatural kind. For the super soldiers of Night Command, the rules were simple: take the pills, fight the bad guys, and live to tell no one. After putting a bad-ass vampire on ice landed her in a padded cell, Alex thought she’d left the hunting game for good. Now she’s in the orbit of a handsome vampire with a problem. And sometimes keeping secrets bites.

Jason Stavros has the best of everything and life eternal. To the human world, Jason was just a poor boy who made it to the top. For a human turned vampire, the fight for a place in the inner circle of the ruling class hinges on one task: convince the best ex-vampire hunting assassin to become his personal bodyguard and save them all.

Join Alex, Jason and a new team of young hunters as two worlds unite against a common enemy. As the body count begins to rise, Alex and the Tracker Team fight friends and enemies to find the answers they seek.

What’s been happening in the dark will finally come to light.

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

"The Legacy Strain" by Taylor Brooke!

 Book Tour!

Hiya guys! I'm sharing the third book in a series I've been featuring, complete with review and a giveaway! If you haven't seen the first books in the series, check out my post for those, and my review for book two.

Legacy Strain 

Isolation #3

 The Legacy Strain
~Released: June 6th 2017

~Publisher: Limitless Publishing

~Genres: Post-Apocalyptic, Science Fiction, Young Adult


Brooklyn Harper’s friends have betrayed her, her heart is broken, and all of humanity is at risk.

After Kirin’s unannounced arrival in Louisiana, Brooklyn finds herself scrambling for a way out of an impossible situation. Kirin is creating the deadly Genesis Cull, and Brooklyn doesn’t know who to turn to for help.

With no other options, she’s forced to trust her nemesis, Juneau Malloy. His support allows the group of Special Omen Operatives to gear up, form a plan of action, and train for the day when they come face-to-face with their worst fear—going to war with their friends.

There is a divide in the once inseparable group of Omens, and their only hope is to put the pieces back together.

Julian Yu Matsumoto agonizes over the difference between right and wrong, love and sacrifice, genocide and revolution. While he struggles with his feelings for Kirin, his moral compass is spinning round and round, his heart is being pulled in different directions, and Julian is desperate to answer questions he never thought he would have to ask.

Is Kirin’s Genesis Cull a revolution or genocide?

Could there be another way to save themselves and humanity as they know it?

Will Julian pay the ultimate price for loving a monster?

Their only hope for redemption is—the Legacy Strain.

Thursday, June 29, 2017

Review of "The Lucky One" by Sylvie Stewart!

 Tour

Hiya guys! I'm excited to share a new romantic comedy with you guys. I have a review of this one, and there is also a giveaway at the end of the post, so check that out once you read my review! ;)

The Lucky One

Carolina Connections

 The Lucky One
~Published: May 11th 2017

~Genres: Adult, Comedy, Romance

~Parent's Guide: PG-17/R


When your luck runs out, do you run away—or do you stay and fight?

Bailey:
Let’s get one thing straight. I am not your typical girl. Sure I’ve got all the parts, but I’ve been a stubborn, irreverent tomboy since the womb, as my Irish father would proudly attest. Despite my Irish blood, I’ve had a bit of bad luck here and there—I recently trusted the wrong guy and got derailed in my professional pursuits. But I’ve bounced back. With my shields firmly in place, I thought nothing, or no one, could touch me again. Until he did. And he just might make this tomboy do the girliest thing in the world—fall head over heels in love. Of all the damn luck…

Jake:
I’m a pretty lucky guy. I have a phenomenal family, a career I love, and I’m building a brand-new life back in my hometown. And, not to be a jerk about it, but I do more than all right with the ladies. Everything’s been going according to plan—like I said, I’m a lucky guy.

That was, until my luck ran out.

Until I met the girl I call “Irish.”

Irony can go kiss my a$$.

Extras:
-The first two chapters of The Lucky One are available for free download on Instafreebie!

-Sylvie just won the National Indie Excellence Award for Romantic Comedy!


Tuesday, June 27, 2017

New Dystopian/Steampunk Release! "Amber Sky" by Claire Warner!

 Blitz!

Hiya guys! I'm super excited to share a new release - it's the start to a dystopian steampunk series! It looks like a fantastic adventure! Check out the excerpt below, and be sure to enter the giveaway at the end of the post!

Amber Sky

C.O.I.L.S of Copper and Brass #1


 Amber Sky
~Released: June 2nd, 2017

~Length: 409 Pages

~Genres: Dystopian, Steampunk


"You thought I did this out of the goodness of my heart?" He gave a short mirthless laugh. "Not a bit of it, this is going to be dangerous for me. What are you offering for my help?"


Beneath the Amber Sky, the nobility control the food, education, and the mysterious C.O.I.L.S of Copper and Brass. To Tay, struggling to keep her siblings alive, the ideas of rebellion and freedom are distant and unreachable.

But when her father is arrested, she begs Darius James, the son of the Overseer, to save his life. Darius agrees, but his help costs her a favour, one he can call in at any time.

Darius' favour will bring her to the Palace, and the perfect position to help the growing rebellion. But the court has games beyond anything she has seen before, and Darius' secrets will add to the danger.

Tay is now able to make a difference, to join the rebellion, find the C.O.I.L.S and discover the secrets of the Amber Sky. All she has to do is survive.

Sunday, June 25, 2017

"The Adventures of Juice Box and Shame" Review!


Hiya peeps! I've got an interesting book to share today, complete with my review! Check it out, and see what you think!

The Adventures of Juice Box and Shame


 The Adventures of Juice Box and Shame
~Released: June 25th, 2017

~Length: 75 Pages

~Genres: Thriller, Contemporary Fiction

~Parent's Guide: PG-17


Li Nguyen, aka Juice Box, has never really had a friend. That is, until he meets the ultra cool, super mysterious Shame. Though Juice Box feels certain this is his new BFF, Shame’s dark past and nefarious entanglements get them both into serious, life-threatening trouble. It doesn’t help that Shame inadvertently pissed off one of the baddest crime bosses in Baltimore, Anna Nguyen (aka Laoban), who also happens to be Juice Box’s cousin. Shame stirred up trouble with a rival game, putting Anna and her crew in a precarious situation. Torn between his love for Anna and his new, exciting friendship with Shame, Juice Box must choose where his loyalties lie. 

Will he choose family and leave Shame out to dry, or will he choose the only friend he’s ever had, despite the danger?

Friday, June 23, 2017

Review of "The Discharge" by Gary Reilly!

Hiya peeps! I'm excited to share an awesome book with you guys today. Written by the late Gary Reilly, it chronicles the life of a soldier in the Army, and is highly autobiographical - how cool is that!?

I was able to do a review, and also have that posted below. Check it out, and if you like what you see, be sure to add the book to your tbr list!

The Discharge


 Discharge
~Released: June 23rd, 2017

~ Publisher: Running Meter Press

~Genres: Historical, Military


The Discharge is the third novel in Gary Reilly’s trilogy chronicling the life and times of Private Palmer as he returns from the U.S. Army to civilian life after a tour of duty in Vietnam. It is a largely autobiographical series based on his own two years of service, 1969-1971, which included a year in Southeast Asia.

In the first book, The Enlisted Men’s Club, Palmer is stationed as an MP trainee at the Presidio in San Francisco, awaiting deployment orders. Palmer is wracked with doubt and anxiety. A tortured relationship with a young lady off base and cheap beer at the EM club offer escape and temporary relief.

The Detachment is the second in the series. This novel covers Palmer’s twelve months in Vietnam as a Military Policeman. In the beginning, he endures through drink and drugs and prostitutes but comes to a turning point when he faces his challenges fully sober.

Now, in The Discharge, Palmer is back in the United States. But he’s adrift. Palmer tries to reconnect with a changed world. From San Francisco to Hollywood to Denver and, finally, behind the wheel of a taxi, Palmer seeks to find his place.

Thursday, June 22, 2017

Review for "The Bad Boy's Girl" by Blair Holden!

Hiya peeps! I've got a review to share today, for a book I agreed to read and review for a promotional tour early last month. I ended up not being able to give it a good rating, and swapped my review for promotional content instead, because the tour is meant to help the book, not harm it.

I don't intend to harm it here either, simply share my review now that it's been more than six weeks since the tour ended.

This is my "official & professional" PluggedIn review, sans spoilers. If you like spoilers and want more of a book discussion/book club setting review, I have one! This book definitely inspired some passionate feelings and opinions, and you can check those out here if you wish.

Without further ado, here we go.


The Bad Boy's Girl

 The Bad Boy's Girl
~Released: February 21st 2017

~Length: 395 Pages

~Genres: Young Adult, Romance

~Parent's Guide: PG-17


Tessa O’Connell is a girl as ordinary as they come-or so she thinks. Her aim for senior year is to keep her head down yet somehow manage to convince her childhood love Jay Stone to love her back. What she isn’t prepared for is for Jay’s brother, Cole to return to town and change the life she’s always been seemingly content to live. Tall, gorgeous as all hell and a bad boy with ocean blue eyes and the perfect edge of adorability, he was her greatest tormentor, her number one enemy.But the guy that’s come back is like no one Tessa’s ever come across. He challenges her, he tests her limits, he forces her to bring out the girl she’s long ago buried under a veil of mediocrity and most of all he compels her to consider that perhaps the boy that infuriates her to the point of no return might just her guardian angel. This new edition contains never before seen, exclusive content!

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

New Release by Kailee Reese Samuels!

 Tour


Hiya peeps! I have a new romance release to share with you today! I've included an excerpt for you to check out, as well as a giveaway at the end of the post! Let me know what you think, in the comments below!

Grunt

The SOS #3

 Grunt
~Released: May 30th 2017

~Genres: Adult Fiction, Romance


Six days.
No one thought I could last
Here in the cell—I now call home
They didn’t know I grew up in the prison of my crime family’s dream.

Six weeks.

No one thought I could withstand
The loss, the drugs, the torture
They didn’t know how much I would enjoy their game.

Six months.

No one thought I could survive
Their puppet and prey—but I like to play—Hard.
And I don’t lose.

They picked the wrong guy. Their so-called ‘grunt’ would fight to get home and take revenge. I vowed to come back—for her—for Kaci. But everything changed.

My maniacal mind wrapped with a pretty mug, I am an unforgiving opponent, tough—tougher than they ever imagined.

And I will never – ever – break.

Trailer Reveal for "The Prophetess" by Desy Smith!



Hiya guys! I'm sharing a trailer reveal for a new fantasy romance coming this Autumn! The cover reveal is currently set for August 2nd, but the trailer looks epic! Check it out, and be sure to let me know what you think of it in the comments below!


The Prophetess


 The Prophetess
~Publisher: Floebe Publishing

~Genres: New Adult, Fantasy, Romance


High up in the heavens, righteousness faces off against the greatest dissenter of all time, and in the crossfire, an angel loses his wings…

Fallen from Heaven and forced to live amongst the humans in exile, angel Ezekiel bares the tragic fate of a disgraced angel. Having overheard the rebellious Lucifer’s plans to rise up against the sanctuary of Heaven, Ezekiel remains silent, and for his inaction, he is cast from the pearly gates and onto the unforgiving lands of the mortals. Two thousand years pass with a cold and hollow wind at his back, and for a moment, Ezekiel resigns to his fate.

However, in the year 2016, the winds of fate begin to change, and redemption comes in the form of his brother, Gabriel, who bares great news. Ezekiel is given a chance to return to Heaven, but only once he has taken down Molach, an evil demon on the rise. If Ezekiel can stop Molach from helping Lucifer return, he will be welcomed back into Heaven. However, there is more than just a demon in his path, Ezekiel must uncover what else fate has in store for him, including a lovely solitary Prophetess named Isabelle and the endless possibility for joy and whimsy she offers. Can Ezekiel rise once more to the great destiny that awaits him? Or has he been amongst the fickle mortals for far too long?